Hugh Sung

Classical music renaissance man, Hugh Sung

Hugh Sung is a modern classical music renaissance man: He’s a podcaster, a techie, a pianist who’s collaborated with people like Jennifer Higdon and Hillary Hahn, an author, an inventor, a former Curtis Institute Professor who now teaches online. Sung has crafted a life — and a career — that keeps him close to his passion and that constantly engages his busy mind. In this MusicWorks episode, learn how and why Hugh does it, and be inspired to create your own Musical Life.

Music in this episode:

  • Myths Op.30: I. The Fountain Of Arethusa. Karol Szymanowski. Performed by Aaron Rosand with Hugh Sung.
  • Man of Steel. Hugh Sung
  • Capriccio-Waltz In E Major Op.7. Henryk Wieniawski. Performed by Aaron Rosand with Hugh Sung.
  • Four Souvenirs: Samba. Paul Schoenfield. Performed by Jasmine Choi and Hugh Sung.

Audio production by Todd “Mind Like a Steel Trap” Hulslander with x-ray vision by Dacia Clay and editing by Mark DiClaudio.

To hear Dacia Clay’s interview on Hugh’s podcast, go here.

For more about Hugh Sung:

Thanks to our MusicWorks theme music composer, George Heathco.

MusicWorks is a Classical Classroom subseries that takes a look at what people are doing in the classical music world today.


13 + 11 =